••• Feudal Grading System
The Chess Rankings

Because children play chess in age groups, in addition to the 7 titles of Champion, Thegn, etc., there are 12 ranks, based on the age of the competitors.An older competitor is estimated to play better than a younger competitor and each year means a shift of one rung on the ranking ladder. Thus an under 9 bordar would have a rank of 8, whilst an under 8 bordar, a year younger, would have a lower ranking of 9.

The table below explains this:

  U18 U11 U10 U9 U8 U7 WV Conversion
1 CHAMPION           50
2 LORD C         47
3 THEGN L C       46
4 VILLAGER T L C     45
5 BORDAR V T L C   44
7 SLAVE Co B V T L 42
8   S Co B V T 41
9     S Co B V 40
10       S Co B 40
11         S Co 40
12           S 40
  • Rankings are consistent within age groups
  • In comparing different age groups an age difference of 1 year gives a corresponding ranking difference of 1. Thus, an U8 Champion is equivalent to an U9 Lord
  • If a tournament consists of players from different age groups, the rankings will reflect the average ages of the group rounded up.
  • In mixed age groups, where a player acquires a ranking from a different age group, this will be indicated in his or her title. Thus an U7 winning a Lord's title in an U9 group, will gain a title "Lord9" and his/her ranking for that tournament would be 5.
  • Players will gain new titles with each tournament and their ranking will be an average of their latest tournament rank and their previous cumulative rank.
  • In merged sections individual section winners will earn the title of Champion but their rank will reflect their score in the tournament.
Grading System
How the Tournaments Work
Historical Background
Why Use Old Names?
Tower Struck by Lightning
Contact Us
Printer Friendly 
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>